Summer Entertaining the Lighter Side

IMG_6324

The last summer entertaining entry was working off the fashion influence of black and white stripes, this one is much more laid back. Your food can be much of your decor.

Above and below is a recipe I saw from Food 52 from Martha Stewart, one pan easy peasy and colorful. I reduced my pasta and added zucchini out of my spiralizer. It its pretty amazing when you can get a lot of this from your garden if you are lucky enough to have one

Recipe Here: One Pan Pasta 

I have the paderno spirilizer available at Williams – Sonoma

I have a colorful platter with something for everyone options. I prefer romaine lettuce ends as my ” chips” over chips but some still want those cheese straws or chips!  I added spinach to my humus because more green is always better and topped it with an organic extra virgin olive oil and sprinkled some cumin on top.

Drinks frozen organic edible flowers which add color to your g & t or use Aperol or Campari for added color. For me Campari is bitter but I still like it with Cointreau, fresh squeezed orange juice and flowers of course.

Down the center of the table use pots of thick herbs wrapped in burlap , potted in terra-cotta , tin or wood, use them in your next meal or plant them later.

For linens with a meal from the garden I love a raw simple linen like the ones below from Charvet Editions I saw at John Derian ..one of my happy places.. or if on a wood table fun summer stripe napkins  from Les Toiles du Soleil ( new location in the Hamptons!)

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 1.48.17 PM

IMG_6325

photo 4

photo 2

IMG_6243

photo 2

IMG_5806

p-15012011163516 c_28112010110217-1 c_28112010110928

file_35_19 file_84_72 photo

photos by Dorothy Pfeiffer and Brand websites

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Delectables, Favorite Flowers, Interior Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

