I Will Never Tire of This or Its Results

I have been apple picking maybe five years in a row now and I don’t think I will ever tire of it especially on gorgeous fall days. This year I was able to control myself enough so that I could actually carry all the apples home…which means less apples  so maybe I should  go twice this year! I love the rows of apples, the dappled light thru the trees, the views thru the arched branches heavy with apples, the smell of ripe apples, the sunflower patches, the pumpkin patch, the apple cider, …In a good fall I will get a tarte tartin out of some of the apples! Fairly easy to do and one of, if not my very favorite dessert when done well. I haven’t tried this recipe but thinking from Jacques Pepin must be pretty wonderful  http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/La-Grand-Bouffe-Jacques-Pepins-Apple-Tart

Here is a great site for pick your own thru out the US, including other harvests http://www.pickyourown.org/NY.htm. .  I prefer the smaller orchards, as the larger ones can be CROWDED but they may have more activities for families like hay rides. Just don’t get lost in a corn maze like this poor family: http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2011/10/12/141271273/family-lost-in-corn-maze-dials-911-for-help

No mistake on the lead photo I selected. Still heavy-hearted on the passing of Steve Jobs.

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Delectables, New York Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Will Never Tire of This or Its Results

  1. trish williams says:

    As usual, you have the way with pictures and the way with words to remind us to look at the sometimes simple but fabulous beauty around us. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

