Nourishment for the Body and Soul

Few things are more beautiful to me than a meal with friends. So after a long stint of many jobs, some challenged with hurricane delays, it was brought to my attention by my doctor I needed to take a little time to nest and nuture. Having just heard my  friend’s mother passed after years of  illnesses, I thought I needed to nurture someone else first, invited her and her husband for a dinner to nurture body and soul.  Heading to Dean and Deluca for food shopping nirvana, I came out with goat cheese and leek tart, mini quiche, striped figs, filet mignon, asparagus for soup, flowering Jasmine Tea from Harney and Son ( a tribute to a trip we had all taken to London) ,  Sullivan Street Bakery ciabotta, acompanied by olive oil from a friend from Italy, mesclun salad, and heirloom tomato. The day before a trip to LaDuree for dessert saw very long lines so made I made my  way up to Maison du Chocolat for macaroons and parting truffle gifts.  A simple pretty table set early in the day helped make it a relaxing, great evening. Best of all my friends brought ME flowers!  In New York we so rarely sit down in someones home to break bread and ‘ such a nice way to share a meal and time together.

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Home, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nourishment for the Body and Soul

  1. So beautiful! That’s how we should eat everyday!!!

  2. trish williams says:

    How gorgeous it all sounded. Wish I could have there!

  3. Giovany Diaz says:

    Ahh Dorothy! soo lovely, and deliscious! it sounds like it was a very nice evening! when am I next? 😎

Leave a Reply

