More on Paris

Back from another shopping trip from Maison & Objet for objects and inspiration for upcoming events I thought I would share with you some of my favorite things about Paris. My last post I shared some favorite places found, but you can get much of that in guide books, I thought this post I would share what I really love most about visiting Paris, it’s in the details. One of my favorite is the allee you find in so many parks in the middle of the city. I find great comfort under them. You don’t need to leave the city to enjoy nature with so many great parks. Then there are the bits of history you stumble upon because of the tastefully placed plaques. Where else do you see what is essentially a hardware store, BHV, with such style, home depot this is not. The drainage hole in the middle of a labyrinth in Jardin des Plantes…a floral design! Where else but in Paris or France, will you see the front of a building so beautiful with perfect geraniums, certainly I don’t see this in my beloved New York so frequently. Look at the name of tea from my favorite tea house Marriage Freres…I clearly could not resist. I go every trip and there is nothing that I know of that smells like Marriage Freres, the mix of all of the teas must be soaked up into the building itself by now. I can think of no other tea place I can go to that has that charming, fragrant experience. Each time I go I take a moment to be fully aware of being present there so I can go back to that moment anytime…lock it way in my mind. When the salesman pointed out the website to buy my favorite tea not in New York….I pointed out it’s just not the same as visiting, and he smiled with pride.

It’s not even a week since I am back and I miss the Paris visit, sitting leisurely in a cafe facing the street watching the stylish world go by.  All the beautifully, respectfully, preserved architecture living in such perfect harmony with beautifully designed, respectfully maintained, manicured gardens.

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More on Paris

  1. diane says:

    Ahhhh Paris, je t’aime.
    au beintot

Leave a Reply

