Before and Now

A few months back I got the most incredible note from former assistant Candice Davis thanking me for mentoring her. She said she did not realize it at the time how much she was learning and wanted to now thank me. She realized the influence of working in a flower studio when she was turning out a lot of work with flowers in her pieces. The note I think is one of the highlights of my career. I believe in passing it on. I have been lucky enough to have mentors in my life and the advice for me has proven to be invaluable and continues to be.

The card shown above hangs in my living room and gets so much attention for good reason as you can see. It gets so much attention that I find myself often going to Candice’s site to have a look at what she has been doing and the work I must say is beautiful. Have a look for yourself. Candice was generous with her time and designs to send me some of her favorites with descriptions and I have added on one of my own favorites but please have a look and chose a favorite yourself.  She is a recent graduate of SCAD and can designs for cards, textiles, logos, children’s book and I am guessing for whatever or wherever her talents can be used.

“It is an image for Oatland Island Wildlife Center in Savannah GA.  I chose to focus on the American Alligator.”

Illustration to illustrate the lyrics to Joni Mitchell’s song, California. I used scratch board technique. The thing in the goats mouth is a street sign for “Sunset Blvd.”

“Illustration featured in WNCMagazine.  It accompanied an article about an poet. The Whippoorwill bird sits in a nest of words from her own work.”

A textile design to represent Savannah College of Art and Design’s, Lacoste campus. It depicts all native flora and fauna.  Lavender, harebell’s, poppies, birch and a hare

“A scarf I designed for a couple who have been very generous donors to SCAD, commissioned through Working Class Studio”

One of my favorites but have a look at Candice’s Site and Pick one for yourself

candiced.com

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before and Now

  1. diane says:

    Although I really enjoyed her work and loved all the details of the images, when I got to the last one I sighed and said to myself “now this is my favorite”…then I read your comment! Great minds dear cousin!!!!!

  2. Bruce Hodges says:

    Thanks for introducing me to Candice’s work. That scarf design is pretty cool…

Leave a Reply

