Fragrance – The Ultimate Experience

With spring nearly in the air and flowers ready to burst open, I find myself eagerly awaiting the fragrance of those flowers too. Wisteria, lilac, hyacinth, roses and the mix of  flowers on a clear spring day.  That memory recall is so powerful and why I love to incorporate fragrance in nearly anything I do. So many fragrances bring me back to certain moments in my life.

When creating a bouquet for a bride or a home order I like to make sure there are fragrant flowers in that bouquet. With all of the hybridized flowers in the market now, so many are lacking fragrance, but we all still immediately lean into a bouquet eyes closed to take in that bouquet.  It’s so disappointing when fragrance isn’t there.

When decorating a wedding I always like to recommend fragrance at ceremony, even if just at the alter or under the chuppah so when they come upon that fragrance again, it brings them right back to that happy moment. It becomes their fragrance. I tell my brides if you are nervous before you walk down the aisle smell your bouquet, take a deep breath and relax.

I definitely have my favorites fragrances and companies but I must rave about Frederic Malle. His approach to fragrance, producing it and marketing it  is the ultimate in quiet elegance and luxuriousness. Everything is done to my considered perfection, without compromise, without ostentation, while still being luxurious. I want to tell you everything about it but I really prefer that  you experience it all on your own, by walking into one of his stores whether it be in New York or Paris, to hear the story of their approach to perfume making, to how you experience the fragrance at the store, and most important the fragrances themselves. I will tell you, and this is a big part, he has selected his favorite perfumers or noses as they say, to make what they each consider to be their best fragrance.  While no expert, to my nose there is a purity, and clarity in all of the fragrance that I don’t find in many others. Now, in addition to perfume, last fall he introduced a line of home fragrances which include beautiful red candle holders in 9 fragrances, rubber incense for your dresser or luggage and a home diffuser called Fleur Mecanique. A small little red box which infuses the air with fragrance.  The stores themselves, while having similar elements are all individually and beautifully designed. The whole experience leaves you feeling ….very satisfied.

Above is a photo of the store in Paris where I bought one of my favorite fragrance, below are more of the stores including the new New York store on Madison shown in the middle.

About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Fragrance. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fragrance – The Ultimate Experience

  1. sami Alam says:

    wow… really nice blog…. wonderfully written…. i like it….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz put your comments…. Thank you…
    i’ll be in touch

  2. Michael Way says:

    I love this blog…and the fact that the sent of hyacinths wafting into my study from the flower box outside of my window means that I get stimulated by the aroma as I read. Wonderful. I look forward to your posts!

  3. Michael Way says:

    er, uh, I mean “scent.”

Leave a Reply

