My favorite cup of tea

When I heard it was going to snow AGAIN ( and I love the snow)  I found myself looking forward to my morning tea and realized I had my second post. I believe one can create a great deal of happiness by creating many small wonderful moments for oneself and taking the time to enjoy them.. even if they are just a few minutes.  String them together thru out the day and its hard to be really unhappy when so many things you place around you create a good feeling. Than you really just have to take care of the big stuff.

One of my great daily pleasures and favorite teas is Marriage Freres, I love the tea, the fragrance and the package. If you are lucky enough to be in Paris go to one of the stores. As soon as you enter you will feel as if walked back in time and will be completely seduced by the fragrance in the store. The tea pot selection is beautiful too. If you buy a tea with flowers in it, shown below, the clear glass tea pot is so beautiful with the hydrated floating petals and the sterling silver top.

At home I use the loose tea with beautiful pot and beautiful sugar. At the office, being in a floral studio not so easy to set up an ideal kitchen I use the beautiful muslin tea bags. Each time I pull one out I enjoy looking at it.

If you are shopping in Paris take time to go to Bon Marche (more on them another blog) for some beautiful sugar by Can a Suc, I haven’t found it in the states yet. Price is high but it is beautiful. When I go back to buy more I find myself stuck in the sugar aisle marveling at the beautiful selection unable to pull myself away. Maybe its not an everyday sugar for you, maybe a Sunday treat, a great hostess gift, or for a dinner party but something beautiful always adds a lift to the moment, even early morning tea.

I keep the beautiful teas front and center in my glass kitchen cabinets so I enjoy seeing them whenever I am home.

In New York you can find the Teas at Dean and Deluca, Bergdorf Goodman and a small selection at Garden of Eden

My top favorites are French Breakfast, Vanilla Sencha (haven’t found in New York but  you can order online),Buddha Bleu, Wedding Imperial (great for 3 pm pick up) and Marco Polo for iced tea.

Mariage Freres Paris Locations I’ve shopped:

Marais

30 rue du Bourg-Tibourg, Paris 4e
phone: +33 (0)1 42 72 28 11

Rive Gauche

13 rue des Grands-Augustins, Paris 6e
Phone: +33 (0) 1 40 51 82 50

Cornucopiaflowers.com


About cornucopiaofbeautifulthings

Dorothy Pfeiffer is owner and Creative Director of Cornucopia since 1995. When she first bought Cornucopia in 1995 it was a retail flower shop on the Upper East Side. Since, Dorothy has moved Cornucopia to a studio space in the heart of the flower market and has expanded the business to include all aspects of event design and recently has developed an added Interior Design for Coporate and Home to the services offered at Cornucopia
This entry was posted in Delectables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My favorite cup of tea

  1. susan secunda says:

    Love the Paris tips! will hopefully come in handy next Spring!

  2. Lisa Munoz says:

    Hi Dorothy,

    This is great! And it’s the perfect type of day for a nice cup of afternoon tea!

    Congratulations.

    Lisa

  3. jill says:

    I take my Mariage Fres Marco Polo sans cubes- hot from a pot.

  4. Vera Graaf says:

    Great site, feels good during these hard times.
    Have indulged in Mariage Freres from time to time, happy to see you share the passion!
    Vera Graaf

Leave a Reply

